When a voter arrives at a polling location, the voter will be asked to present one of the seven (7) acceptable forms of photo ID (listed below). Election officials are required by current State law to determine whether the voter’s name on the identification provided matches the name on the official list of registered voters (“OLRV”). After a voter presents their ID, the election worker will compare it to the OLRV. If the name on the ID matches the name on the list of registered voters, the voter will follow the regular procedures for voting.
If the name does not match exactly but is “substantially similar” to the name on the OLRV, the voter will be permitted to vote as long as the voter signs a simple affidavit stating that the voter is the same person on the list of registered voters.
If a voter does not have proper identification, the voter will still be permitted to vote provisionally. The voter will have until the 6th (the sixth) day after election day to present proper identification to the county voter registrar, or the voter’s provisional ballot will be rejected.
Here is a list of the acceptable forms of photo ID:
- Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
- Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
- Texas personal identification card issued by DPS
- Texas license to carry a handgun issued by DPS
- United States military identification card containing the person’s photograph
- United States citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph
- United States passport
With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the identification must be current or have expired no more than 60 days before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place.
Any registered voter may vote early by personal appearance (in person). Early voting by personal appearance for the March 1, 2016 Election begins on February 16, 2016 and ends on February 26, 2016. You may vote at any early voting location in your county of registration.
You will be able to find early voting locations by using our search site Am I Registered?, which will be populated with voting sites a few days before early voting begins. Or, you may want to contact the Early Voting Clerk for State and County Elections in your county. Also, many newspapers publish early voting and election day polling locations, so you might be able to find the information there.
- will be away from your county on Election Day and during the hours that early voting is conducted;
- are sick or disabled;
- are 65 years of age or older on Election Day; or
- are confined in jail.
I fall under one of the 4 reasons above. What do I do now? Are there deadlines connected with this procedure?
First, request an Application for Ballot by Mail (ABBM) from the Early Voting Clerk in the political subdivision conducting your election, or from our office. You may also print an ABBM directly from our website (PDF), (Spanish version (PDF)). Once received, read the instructions carefully, complete the ABBM form and return it to the Early Voting Clerk. For the March 1, 2016 Election date, the first day to submit an ABBM to the early voting clerk is January 1, 2016; the last day (or deadline) to submit an ABBM is February 19, 2016---this is not a postmark date---the ABBM must be received in the office of the early voting clerk by February 19, 2016 in order for you to receive a ballot by mail.
- Learn more about the ABBM process and to request an ABBM from our office (or print one directly from the web)